Commonwealth Journal

Local News

July 3, 2014

Eubank man files for Pulaski school board seat

Somerset —

A Eubank man has filed for the Division 3 seat on the Pulaski County Board of Education.
William Minton Todd will face Cindy Price at the November 4 general election. Price, currently serving as chair of the county school board, had not filed a Petition of Election as of Thursday morning but there is more than a month before the August 12 filing deadline.
Division 3 and Division 4 seats are up for election November 4 in the Pulaski County School District. Terms of Randy Emerson, Division 4, and Price expire at the end of this year. Emerson is serving by appointment, replacing Edwin Sellers who moved out of the district. Board members with time remaining in their current terms are vice-chair Brandy Daniels, Jim Wilson and Michael Citak.
More filings are sure to come. Subject to the August 12 filing deadline are school board candidates in Pulaski County, Somerset and Science Hill school districts and municipal candidates in Burnside, Ferguson, Science Hill and Eubank. 
A small section of northern Eubank extends into Lincoln County and a candidate for a Eubank city office who lives in Lincoln County must file at the Lincoln County clerk’s office. All other small city and school board candidates file at the Pulaski County clerk’s office.
Other filings as of Thursday include Mike W. Hail who is seeking a seat on the Somerset Independent Board of Education. Hail is the son of the late Mark Hail, former chair of the Pulaski County Republican Party.
 Terms of Somerset school board chair Scott Gulock and board members Elaine Wilson and Sharon Brown expire at the end of this year and their seats will be up for election November 4. Board members with time remaining in their current terms are vice-chair Gretchen Cole and Jeff Perkins.
Dr. Tim VanDerPloeg has filed for reelection as a member of the Science Hill Independent Board of Education. Terms of board chair Mike Elliott, vice-chair David Sayers Jr. and VanDerPloeg expire at the end of this year and their seats will be up for reelection November 4. Members with time remaining in their terms are Renny Smith and Skip Norfleet.

Text Only
Local News
News Live
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide