Commonwealth Journal

Local News

March 27, 2014

Tuesday is deadline for Independents to file

Somerset — April 1 is the deadline for political independents to file a Statement-of- Candidacy form expressing desire to become a candidate for public office subject to the November general election.

Filing a Statement of Candidacy form with the county clerk or secretary of state does not qualify a person as a candidate. He or she must also file a Petition of Nomination no later than the second Tuesday in August (August 12) to appear on the November 4 ballot. State law says the secretary of state and county clerks are not allowed to accept a Petition of Nomination if an independent candidate has not filed a Statement-of-Candidacy form no later than April 1.

An independent candidate filing a Statement-of-Candidacy form must include on the form the office he or she intends to seek. “If they become a candidate they must run for that office ... they can’t change their mind,” said Pulaski County Clerk Ralph Troxtell.

 Troxtell said at midweek no Statements of Candidacy forms by independent candidates had been filed in his office. Same is true in Frankfort. A spokesman at the Secretary of State’s office said Thursday morning no Statements of Candidacy forms had been filed up to then in the 52nd, 80th, 83rd and 85th legislative districts, the four House districts that make up Pulaski County.   Statements of Candidacy also are not required for nonpartisan school board candidates and nonpartisan mayoral candidates, and candidates for city councils and city commissions.

  Mayors, city councilors and commissioners will be elected in all municipalities in Pulaski County this year. Candidates for Somerset city offices were subject to a January 28 filing deadline, and a May 20 primary contest developed for mayor as well as a citywide council primary in Ward 4. Municipal candidates in Burnside, Ferguson, Science Hill and Eubank have until August 12 to file.

  Terms for Mayor Ron Jones and all six members of Burnside City Council expire at the end of this year and each must seek reelection if they wish to retain their offices. Members of Burnside City Council are Dewayne Sellers, Joyce Gregory, Bill Leslie, Willis Eadens, Lula Jean Thompson-Burton and Susi Lawson.

  In Ferguson, Mayor Allen Dobbs and members of Ferguson City Council will be up for reelection if they choose to stay in office. Ferguson city councilors are Pam Cordell, Tony DePrato, Linda Hughes, Malissa Thacker, Sandy Pitman and John Westberry.

  The same goes at Science HIll. Mayor Bill Dick and members of Science Hill City Commission are serving the final year in their terms. Science Hill commissioners are Jeffrey Wesley, Terry Wesley, Mike Hall and David Phelps.

  Ditto at Eubank. Mayor Frey Todd is in the final year of a four-year term. Two-year terms of Eubank city commissions will expire at the end of this year. Members of Eubank City Commission are Bill Jones, Connie Belcher, Edward Hicks and Alton Fulcher.

  School board candidates are subject to the August 12 filing deadline and board of education members will be elected in each of the three local school districts.

  Division 3 and Division 4 seats are up for election November 4 in the Pulaski County School District. Terms of Cindy Price, chair of the county school board from Division 3, and Randy Emerson, Division 4, expire at the end of this year. Emerson is serving by appointment, replacing Edwin Sellers who moved out of the district. Board members with time remaining in their current terms are vice-chair Brandy Daniels, Jim Wilson and Michael Citak.

  In the Somerset Independent School District, terms of board chair Scott Gulock and board members Elaine Wilson and Sharon Brown expire at the end of this year and their seats will be up for election November 4. Board members with time remaining in their current terms are vice-chair Gretchen Cole and Jeff Perkins.

 Terms of Science Hill Independent School District board chair Mike Elliott, vice-chair David Sayers Jr. and board member Dr. Tim VanDerPloeg expire at the end of this year and their seats will be up for election November 4. Members with time remaining in their terms are Renny Smith and Skip Norfleet.



Text Only
Local News
  • Corps: Lake water fees may be coming

    Sometime, maybe three or four years down the road, Somerset and other communities that use water out of Lake Cumberland will pay fees for water drawn out of the lake. And, if Wolf Creek Dam springs another leak, communities along the lake might have to pay the cost of repairs.

    August 1, 2014

  • eubank school1.jt.jpg New cafeteria coming soon to Eubank Elementary

    Students at one elementary school in northern Pulaski County will be taking their lunches in the classroom for a bit while construction to its cafeteria continues. 

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • DOWNTOWN FLOWER FOTO.JPG Downtown beautification project underway

    No flowers yet, but the boxes are taking shape. A city beautification project is under way downtown and already completed are four elevated flower boxes –– three along the south side of the square in front of First and Farmers National Bank and one on the east side in front of Citizens National Bank’s downtown headquarters.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rift over firefighter pay finally history

    Somerset officials are closing the books on a years-long disagreement between the city and the state labor cabinet over overtime pay and other benefits for firefighters and EMS workers. 

    July 31, 2014

  • BURNSIDE LODGE-TURNER FOTO.jpg Turner to meet with commissioner on Burnside Island

    A state representative unhappy over secrecy surrounding possible privatization of General Burnside Island State Park said he will respond positively to an invitation to meet with Elaine Walker, commissioner of Kentucky Tourism, Arts and Heritage Ca

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Derek Kissee.jpg Science Hill man charged in Rockcastle County beating

    A Science Hill man has been accused of beating and leaving another Pulaski County man for dead in an abandoned Rockcastle County rock qu

    July 29, 2014 2 Photos

  • Kingsford Fire 07-29-2014 KS 09.jpg No injuries, minimal damage at Kingsford Plant

    A normal production day at the Kingsford Charcoal Plant in southern Pulaski County was halted for a few hours while firefighters worked to put out a small blaze at the plant. 

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • 020313 SCC Rogers BLdg-0286.jpg SCC tabbed as one of top places to work

    A national publication dedicated to all things secondary education has named Somerset Community College one of the best in the nation to work for. 

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Warning: Robo phone scam targeting local residents

    Authorities are warning local residents of a possible phone scam.

    July 28, 2014

  • Baskin Robbins Reopens 07-29-2014 JT 17.jpg Baskin Robbins is back in Somerset

    Even with two Dairy Queens, a new Orange Leaf and an ice cream truck, Somerset residents have still been screaming for more ice cream.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

News Live
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide