Commonwealth Journal

Local News

December 7, 2013

Rodney Dick files to run for jailer

Somerset — Rodney Dick, an employee of the Pulaski County Road Department for 25 years and a farmer in the Nancy community, is the third candidate to file for jailer, hoping to unseat incumbent Mike Harris.

“I went down there (to the county clerk’s office) and filed my papers yesterday (Tuesday),” Dick told the Commonwealth Journal. Dick didn’t stand in line to file; filing for local offices slowed dramatically during Thanksgiving week with only a couple of Petitions of Elections presented to the clerk’s office immediately before and after Turkey Day.

Michael Hall and Anthony McCollum previously had filed for jailer. Harris had not filed as of Thursday morning. All candidates for jailer so far are Republicans and their candidacies are subject to the May 20 GOP primary election.

“(Filing for local offices) has been boring so far,” laughed a deputy county clerk.  She obviously recalled the filing fury during the 2010 election cycle, the first local election after magistrates on Pulaski Fiscal Court doubled their salaries from $15,000 to $30,000 a year.

  A total of 51 candidates in 2010 filed for the five seats on Pulaski Fiscal Court. Most campaigned in vain as incumbents retained their seats. The exception: Kenny Isaacs, the only Democratic member of fiscal court, vacated his District 1 seat to run for county judge-executive and Jason Turpen, a Republican, bested a crowded field to gain the District 1 seat.

  Now, four years later, a week after Thanksgiving, only seven magisterial candidates, including three incumbents, have filed.

  Filers for magistrate as of midmorning Thursday are:

 1st District: Incumbent Jason Turpen.

2nd District: Larry Hines and Kenneth Decker, both Republicans. Incumbent Mike Wilson, a Republican, had not filed.

3rd District: Jimmy Wheeldon, a Republican. Incumbent Tommy Barnett, a Republican, had not filed.

4th District: Incumbent Glenn Maxey, a Republican.

5th District: Incumbent Mike Strunk, a Republican, and Thomas D. Stevens III (Bud), a Democrat.

There is a spot of activity for the office of constable. Roy Chumbley, 68 Anderson Valley Lane, Science Hill, filed last week for constable in the 2nd District. He joins Clyde Molen, Carl David Jones, James Huesman and Christopher Roberts, all Republicans. Shane D. Haste, incumbent constable in the 2nd District, has filed for coroner.

Other constabulary candidates who have filed since November 6 include:

1st District: Denny Allen Britt and Danny Weddle, both Republicans. James Foster, incumbent constable, has not filed.

3rd District: Travis Gillilan and Brad Wilson, both Republicans. Richard Gene Palmer, incumbent constable, has not filed.

4th District: James Mayfield, a Republican. Richard L. New is currently serving as constable but has not filed for reelection.

5th District: Incumbent Michael “Wally” Wallace, has filed for reelection.

  Except for Rodney Dick filing for jailer and Roy Chumbley for constable, Thanksgiving week was quiet as far as filing activity for other local offices. Following are candidates who have filed Petitions of Election since November 6:

  • Pulaski County judge-executive: Incumbent Barty Bullock and Steve Kelley.

  • Pulaski County Clerk: Tim Price, Linda Burnett, Josh Anderson and Jim Reams. They are seeking the office of retiring Ralph Troxtell.

  • Pulaski County attorney: Incumbent Martin Hatfield.

  • Pulaski County sheriff: Incumbent Todd Wodd and Greg W. Speck.

  • Pulaski County coroner: Clyde Strunk and Shane D. Haste.

  • Pulaski County surveyor: Anthony Glenn Thompson.

  • Mayor of Somerset: Alan Keck.

  • Somerset City Council, Ward 4: Joseph Wiles.

  • Somerset City Council, Ward 9: Jim Mitchell.

Multi-county candidates who have filed at the secretary of state’s office in Frankfort:

  • David A. Tapp, circuit judge, 28th Judicial Circuit, 1st Division.

  • Jeffrey T. Burdette, chief regional circuit judge, 28th Judicial Circuit, 2nd Division.

  • Marcus Vanover, Family Court judge, 3rd Division, 28th Judicial Circuit.

  • Katie Gregory Wood, district judge, 2nd Division, 28th Judicial Circuit.

  Tapp, Burdette and Wood are incumbents. Vanover was recently appointed Family Court judge, succeeding retiring Walter Maguire.

  • Incumbent Court of Appeals Judge Michael O. Caperton, 3rd Appellate District, 1st Division, and James H. Lambert, 3rd Appellate District, 2nd Division.

  • Matt Bevin, Louisville, and Gurley L. Martin, Owensboro, for U.S. Senator. Both are Republicans.

 • David Meade, 80th House District, a part of which extends into Pulaski County. He succeeded retiring Danny Ford.

  Filing deadline for most local offices is January 28. Independents, small cities’ candidates and school board candidates have until August 12 to file.




Text Only
Local News
News Live
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide