Commonwealth Journal

January 3, 2014

Cheuvront, Denney named 1st team All-State

Commonwealth Journal

Somerset — Somerset High School senior Cam Cheuvront and Pulaski County High School senior Jacob Denney were selected to the Associated Press Kentucky All-State Football Team as first team selections. Cheuvront was selected first team as an offensive wide receiver, while Denney was selected first team defensive back.

Cheuvront led Somerset in receiving this season with 68 catches for 1,171 yards and 15 touchdowns.

Denney accounted for 50 solo tackles, while assisting on 34 more stops, for a grand total of 84 stops for the Maroons.

Somerset High School senior lineman Kagen Skidmore, who played both offensive and defensive line, was named the AP All-State second team as a defensive lineman and an offensive lineman.

Pulaski senior Aaron Smith (RB), Somerset senior Bailey McEnroe (LB), Pulaski sophomore Riley Hall (QB) and Pulaski freshman Jake Johnson (WR) were all named as All-State Honorable Mention.

Bowling Green High School WR Nacarius Fant was named the Associated Press Kentucky High School Football Player of the Year.

The most significant number for Nacarius Fant in a season of eye-popping statistics was rather small: three, as in consecutive Class 5A state championships for Bowling Green.

The Purples (14-0) posted other notable numbers thanks to the 5-foot-10, 175-pound senior wide receiver. Bowling Green's 49-14 title-game victory over Pulaski County capped a third straight unbeaten season and extended its winning streak to 44 games, third longest in KHSAA history.

Fant caught five passes for 100 yards and a touchdown in the championship as the Purples overcame a 14-0 deficit with 49 unanswered points. He finished with 1,699 yards receiving and 24 touchdowns on 83 catches. Figure in 555 combined return yards, and it adds up to Fant's selection as Kentucky's Mr. Football by members of The Associated Press.

Bowling Green's Kevin Wallace was named as the Associated Press Kentucky High School  Football Coach of the Year.

With a third consecutive state championship as the goal, Bowling Green coach Kevin Wallace wasn't concerned about continuing the Purples' winning streak. Fortunately for the longtime coach, both impressive runs remained intact.

Bowling Green capped its third consecutive unbeaten season with another Class 5A title, beating Pulaski County 49-14 last month. The achievement extended the Purples' winning streak to 44 games, third longest in KHSAA history.

Wallace's squad succeeded with a combination of a high-octane offense and ferocious defense, particularly in the postseason. Bowling Green (14-0) scored 48 points or more in four of its final five games including the championship and outscored opponents 661-204 overall.

All that mattered to Wallace, voted Kentucky's Coach of the Year by a panel of Associated Press members, was winning another trophy.

Bowling Green achieved its mission only after falling behind 14-0 to Pulaski County (14-1) at Western Kentucky's Houchens-Smith Stadium. The Purples regrouped to score 49 unanswered points and cap another dominant season.

The Associated Press 2013 Kentucky All-State Teams

The 2013 Associated Press Kentucky High School All-State first and second teams, as selected by media representatives from across the state:


QB — Drew Barker, Conner

RB — Damien Harris, Madison Southern

RB — Dylan Byrd, Lou. DeSales

RB — Elijah Bell, Lex. Henry Clay

WR — Nacarius Fant, Bowling Green (Mr. Football)

WR — Scott Daniel, Scott Co.

WR — Cam Cheuvront, Somerset

WR — Russ Cox, Anderson Co.

OL — John Kurtz, Lou. St. Xavier

OL — Will Jenkins, Bowling Green

OL — Travis Wright, Scott Co.

OL — Cody McPeek, Fairview

OL — Houston Sparkman, Lou. Male

OL — Sullivan Simpson, Lex. Henry Clay

OL — Zach Caldwell, Harlan Co.

OL — Marcus Smith, Lou. Male

OL — Matt Millay, Meade Co.

K — Palmer Ward, Scott Co.


DL — Matt Elam, John Hardin

DL — Adrian Middleton, S Warren

DL — Derik Overstreet, Paducah Tilghman

DL — Jacob Van Meter, Scott Co.

LB — Lincoln Quick, Bowling Green

LB — Masai Whyte, Martha Layne Collins

LB — Carson Whitehead, Harlan Co.

DB — Sani Warren, Belfry

DB — Rondell Green, Warren Central

DB — Jacob Denney, Pulaski Co.

DB — Patrick Anderson, John Hardin

P — Schafer Putz, Murray


QB — Elijah Sindelar, Caldwell Co.

QB — Drew Houliston, Highlands

QB — Devin Hayes, Bowling Green

RB — Marquez Trigg, Glasgow

RB — DeAndre Farris, Martha Layne Collins

WR — Will Bush, Lou. Ballard

WR — Carl Walker, Lex. Bryan Station

WR — Chad Lewellyn, Lou. Christian Academy

WR — Jason Perkins, Wayne Co.

OL — Kagen Skidmore, Somerset

OL — Dylan Ferguson, Bullitt East

OL — Wade Wilson, Graves Co.

OL — Andrew Wilks, Lincoln Co.

OL — Austin Metcalfe, North Oldham

OL — Chris Figg, S Oldham

OL — Matt Boston, Glasgow

OL — Phillip Lovins, Shelby Valley

K — Joe Rose, Anderson Co.

K — Blanton Creque, Martha Layne Collins


DL — Lloyd Tubman, Lou. Seneca

DL — Tyler Prater, Middlesboro

DL — Chris Helton, Williamsburg

DL — Andrew Wilks, Lincoln Co.

DL — Andrew Newsome, Shelby Valley

DL — Josh Krupinski, Central Hardin

DL — Ethan Wilson, Williamsburg

DL — Travis Jenkins, Meade Co.

DL — Kagen Skidmore, Somerset

LB — Derquione Mobley, Lou. Central

LB — Ryan Duvall, Apollo

LB — Donald Styles, Lou. Central

DB — Milas Norris, Glasgow

DB — R.J. Taylor, Lex. Tates Creek

DB — Alex Lecroy, Daviess Co.

DB — Kylan Nelson, Lex. Lafayette

P — Evan McCombs, Graves Co.

Mr. Football: Nacarius Fant, Bowling Green

Coach of the Year: Kevin Wallace, Bowling Green


QB: Dalton Sizemore, Williamsburg; Dylan Boone, Murray; Reese Ryan, Lex. Catholic; Reggie Bonnafon, Lou. Trinity; Riley Hall, Pulaski Co.; Tyler Guffey, Wayne Co.

RB: Aaron Smith, Pulaski Co.; Brent Holman, Bourbon Co.; Charles Walker, Lou. St. Xavier; Chase Hall, Pikeville; Cody Crider, Graves Co.; Devin Taylor, West Jessamine; Fred Massey, Harlan Co.; Gabe Blair, North Laurel; Jake Coppock, Corbin; Jonah Shacklett, Meade Co.; Justen Pollack, Calloway Co.; Marque Northington, Lou. Male; Michael Nero, Lou. DuPont Manual; Quinton Baker, Ashland Blazer; Rashon Nelson, Mason Co.; Ryan Pittman, Middlesboro.

WR: Austin Poindexter, Middlesboro; Chad Eaton, Barren Co.; Charles Johnson, Bourbon Co.; Cody Estep, Pikeville; Corey Shelton, Williamsburg; Dante Johnson, North Hardin; Jake Johnson, Pulaski Co.; Jake Williams, Graves Co.; Jansen Riney, Owensboro Catholic; Joey Marshall, Graves Co.; Keion Wakefield, Lou. Male; Rasheed Jones, McCracken County; Sam Letton, Lex. Catholic; Skyler Griffith, Williamsburg; Trevor Stephens, Caverna; Zach Helton, Central Hardin.

OL: Austin Matheny, Mason Co.; C.J. Jacoby, Lou. Holy Cross; Cody Griffin, Bell Co.; Harley Lassiter, Graves Co.; Ian Gilson, Glasgow; Matt Hubbard, Pineville; Nathan Murray, Bell Co.; Tyler Eldridge, Spencer Co.; William Banks, Harlan Co.; William Langford, Murray.

Kicker/Punter: Hector Garcia, Graves Co.; Jacob Drexler, John Hardin; Jacob Tompkins, Mason Co.; Murray; Sean Neurnberger, Oldham Co.

DL: Ashton Humphrey, Mason Co.; Byron Carver, Warren Central; Christon Woods, Owensboro; Cole Wilson, Harlan Co.; Dakota Torstrick, Harlan; Dylan Day, Graves Co.; Evan Sayner, McCracken County; Hayden Hatfield, Belfry; Heath Wiggins, Graves Co.; Marcus Goree, John Hardin; Marcus Manning, Calloway Co.; Tim Kloss, Graves Co.; William Langford, Murray.

LB: Austin Poindexter, Middlesboro; Bailey McEnroe, Somerset; Brad Auxier, Johnson Central; Chris Smith, John Hardin; Grayson Miller, Scott Co.; Jacob Mayes, Murray; Jefferson Patrick, Williamsburg; Justin Green, Bell Co.; Logan Blue, Owensboro; Luke Wilson, Meade Co.; Malik Malone, Lou. Male; Phillip Francis, Lou. Central; Ryan Kelly, Central Hardin.

DB: Conner Ford, Pineville; Justin Warwick, Bell Co.; Seth Barton, Middlesboro.