Commonwealth Journal

March 7, 2013

Plan would push Mills out of Pulaski County

By BILL MARDIS, Editor Emeritus
Commonwealth Journal

Somerset —  

The Kentucky House of Representatives on Wednesday approved a redistricting plan that, if approved by the Senate, would push Democrat Terry Mills’ 24th District out of northern Pulaski County and divide Pulaski County among four legislative districts, all represented by Republicans.
  Brian Wilkerson, communications director for House Speaker Greg Stumbo, said there is a “gentlemen’s agreement” that the House will approve the Senate’s redistricting plan and the Senate will approve the House’s redistricting plan. If the Senate doesn’t approve the House plan during the current short session, it will not become effective until approved in a special session or in next year’s regular General Assembly session. There is reportedly a lot of Republican opposition to the plan.
  House-approved legislative districts extending into Pulaski County are:
  52nd District, represented by Ken Upchurch, Monticello, who recently won a special election to fill a vacancy created when Sara Beth Gregory was elected to the Senate.
  53rd District, represented by David Meade of Stanford. Meade, who succeeded Danny Ford, currently represents what is now designated the 80th District.
  83rd District, represented by Jeff Hoover of Jamestown.
 85th District, represented by Tommy Turner of Pulaski County.
  The proposed 52nd House District includes Wayne and McCreary counties and six precincts in Pulaski County:  Firebrook No. 11F; Okolona No.16; Burnside County No. 36A; Bourbon West No.10W; West Burnside County No. 36W and Bronston North No. 38.
  The proposed 53rd House District includes Casey and Lincoln counties and four precincts in Pulaski County: Ansel No. 21; Eubank No. 25; Estesburg No. 26; and Goodhope No. 28.
  The proposed 83rd House District includes Russell, Clinton and Cumberland counties and 10 precincts in Pulaski County: Saline North; Nancy No.15; Harrison No.17; Saline South; E Naomi No. 44; W Naomi No. 44; Girdler No.12; Hickorynut No. 19; Fall Branch No.18; and Somerset No. 5E.
 The proposed 85th House District represents four precincts in Laurel County and 38 precincts in Pulaski County: Somerset No. 5B; Somerset No. 3B; Science Hill No. 22; Science Hill No. 23; Buncombe No. 24; Somerset No. 1; Somerset No. 3A; Mt. Zion No. 47; Somerset No. 2; Caney Fork No.13; Somerset No. 4A; Somerset No. 4B; Price No. 27; Somerset No. 6; Hazeldell No. 29; Vaught No. 43; Catron No. 31; Dallas No. 45; Somerset No. 3C; Somerset No. 5A; Rush Branch No.14;  Parker No. 9; Mark No. 30; Bourbon East No. 10E; Mayfield No. 32; Mt. Victory No. 33; Ferguson No. 8; Colo No. 35; Gilliland No. 40; Somerset No. 5C; Somerset No. 5D; Somerset No. 4C; Burnside City No. 36; North Burnside City No. 36N; East Burnside County No. 36E; South Burnside County No. 36S; Gamblin No. 37; and Bronston No. 38.