Southwestern High School senior Peyton Gover (second from right) was awarded the 12th Region Player of the Year award at the Lions Eye Foundation Mr. & Miss Kentucky Basketball Banquet on Tuesday in Lexington. Gover was one of the top scorers in the state with a 30.1 scoring average. Gover was a finalist for the coveted Mr. Kentucky Basketball award.  Pictured were, from left Al Gover, Hollyn Gover, Peyton Gover and Shelley Gover.

On the hardwood, Southwestern High School senior basketball standout Peyton Gover has always thrived on competing against the best competition in the state of Kentucky.

On Tuesday night, Gover got that opportunity to compete against the best in the state in the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation Mr. & Miss Kentucky Basketball Awards Ceremony at the Lexington Center Bluegrass Ballrooom.

Gover was selected as the top player in the 12th Region and was in the running for the prestigious statewide Mr. Kentucky Basketball award.

“Peyton is a great kid and he had a special senior season,” stated Southwestern first-year coach Chris Baker. “I am pretty sure this is a first in Southwestern school history, and this is a ‘once in a lifetime’ experience  for this young man.”

And it was only fitting that Warrior coach Chris Baker was named the 12th Region Coach of the Year by the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches earlier in the week. Baker would be the first to admit that his star point guard had a lot to do with making ‘his coach look good’.

Baker’s Warriors had the highest team scoring average in the state at 82.4 points per game, and the Warriors led the state in team free throw percentage at 81.7. Under Baker, the Warriors finished the season at 24-6 and claimed the 48th District crown for the first time sine 2013.

But back to Gover, who finished the season with a 30.1 scoring average – which ranked him fourth in the state. Gover was also one of the top free throw shooters in the state with a 84.8 percent accuracy at the charity stripe.

Gover finished sixth in the state with 90 three-point field goals made on the season.

Gover ended his prep career with a 40-point performance against Wayne County and a 37-point game against Boyle County. Gover scored a season-high 43 points against Somerset.

Paul Lawrence Dunbar High School senior Taveion Hollingsworth won the 2017 Mr. Kentucky Basketball award, while Bullitt East High School senior Lindsey DuVall won the 2017 Miss Kentucky Basketball award.

The complete list of senior student athletes who  were selected as Mr. and Miss Kentucky Basketball candidates as well as Regional Players of the Year by the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches were:

Miss Kentucky


Region 1: Hannah Langhi – Marshall Co.

Region 2: Alisha Owens – Henderson Co.

Region 3: Lily Grimes – Breckinridge Co.

Region 4: Elli Bartley – Glasgow

Region 4: MacKenzie Coleman – Metcalfe Co.

Region 5: Jada Stinson – Elizabethtown

Region 6: Lindsey DuVall – Bullitt East

Region 6: Jaelynn Penn – Butler (Louisville)

Region 7: Tonysha Curry – DuPont Manual

Region 8: Kaylee Clifford – Trimble Co.

Region 9: Allison Johnson – Beechwood

Region 10: Whitney O’Mara – Mason Co.

Region 11: Princess Stewart – Franklin Co.

Region 12: Emmie Harris – Boyle Co.

Region 13: Jordan Brock – Harlan

Region 14: McKenzie Flynn – Estill Co.

Region 15: Ali May – Johnson Central

Region 16: Maggie Jachimczuk – Russell

Mr. Kentucky


Region 1: Chris Vogt – Graves Co.

Region 2: Travion Hollowell – University Heights

Region 2: Jaylen Sebree – Christian Co.

Region 3: Zach Hopewell – Apollo

Region 4: DeAndre “Pedro” Bradshaw – Russellville

Region 4: Tavin Lovan – Franklin Simpson

Region 4: Terry Taylor – Bowling Green

Region 5: Tony Jackson – North Hardin

Region 6: Jaylon Hall – Doss

Region 7: Clivonte Patterson – Ballard (Louisville)

Region 8: Joe Griffin – South Oldham

Region 9: Cole VonHandorf – Covington Catholic

Region 10: Jake Ohmer – Scott High

Region 11: Taveion Hollingsworth – Paul Laurence Dunbar

Region 12: Peyton Gover – Southwestern

Region 13: Peyton Broughton – North Laurel

Region 14: Torell Carter – Letcher Co. Central

Region 15: Timmy Dalton – Lawrence Co.

Region 15: Trenton Russell – Magoffin Co.

Region 16: Hayden Roe – West Carter

Recommended for you