Jacksonville, Florida native Earl Pearson Jr. just came off the biggest win of his dirt racing career during the Labor Day weekend. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned Hillbilly 100 at the Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, West Virginia was won by the sunshine state native, but after last Saturday night he has one more little piece of hardware to add to his collection.

Earl Pearson Jr. won the $39,000 prize in last Saturday's World 100 at Tony Stewart's Eldora Speedway. Pearson won the 36th edition of the nation's top-rated prestigious Late Model event. 195 entered into this year's World 100 with Vic Hill Mosheim, Tennessee taking fast time around the 1/2 mile oval with a 15:736 seconds. The Heat Race winners were Jimmy Owens, Jeep VanWormer, Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Shannon Babb, and Earl Pearson Jr.

Some Bluegrass state drivers made their presence known at this year's World 100. For example Tim Tungate of Campbellsville, Kentucky, he started in the number one slot in the second Heat Race but failed to transfer after falling victim to Eldora's concrete wall. Tungate was running in a transfer position before colliding with the concrete. Brad Neat of Dunnville, Kentucky was the second fastest qualifier of the weekend, failed to transfer in the heat or B-Main, but made the show through a fast time provisional.

Over 24 Kentucky competitors made a heat race at Eldora Speedway during this year's World 100. Just 120 drivers make a heat race during the World 100 as six heats are ran, top three transfer, the two consolation races with the top-four transferring and two fast time provisionals making up the 28 car field.

Top 10 2006 World 100:

1)Earl Pearson, Jr. 2)Shannon Babb 3)Jeep VanWormer 4)Josh Richards 5)Scott Bloomquist 6)Clint Smith 7)Dale McDowell 8)Brian Birkhofer 9)Matt Miller 10)Steve Shaver

Recommended for you